Input: Who Wants to Know More?

By: Taylor

People especially talented in the Input theme have a craving to know more. Often they like to collect and archive all kinds of information.

Input

What does the Input strength look like to me? Since taking the StrengthsQuest assessment I have identified a number of things that characterize me as somebody carrying the input strength:

1. I had trouble deciding a major. This happened not because I didn’t know what I wanted to do but rather because I found so many things interesting. I ended up with a double major in two completely different fields. Both of which will allow me to consider a number of different career paths.

2. I am interested in a wide variety of things and am constantly finding random things that I instantly have a desire to learn. There is not necessarily a rhyme or reason but rather just an excitement that forms from finding new things. It seems like each week I have a new interest and am constantly researching to learn more. I think this is demonstrated by my plans for this summer: starting to take piano lessons, obtaining my real estate license, and traveling to places like Arizona to hike and Washington D.C. to visit historic landmarks.

3. I love meeting new people and learning about where they came from as well as what the future holds for them. I appreciate differences as it’s a chance to see things from a fresh perspective.

4. I collect pieces of information from the news and other pieces of literature. I am constantly taking notes in the margin and writing down quotes in hope that I won’t forget what I’ve just absorbed.

Needless to say- I am never bored! These are just a few examples of how the Input strength reflects in my lifestyle. I am always excited and optimistic about things that are in my future. I will always travel, read a variety of things, and even take classes after graduating. It is troublesome thinking that I will never really know it all or enough, but by identifying this strength I’ve identified that I develop by experiences new adventures.

If you think (or know) that Input is one of your strengths, here are some ideas from the StrengthsQuest book for exploring career paths:

  • Collect as much information as you can about the careers that interest you. The more information you gather, the better your decision will be.
  • Environments that give you the freedom to pursue threads of information and that focus on informed decision-making are likely to bring out your best.
  • You probably will enjoy a career in which you are always on the cutting edge of knowledge and you can gather and share valuable pieces of relevant information.
  • Choose jobs that require you to be an expert collector and consumer of research. This type of environment will energize you.

If you want to learn more about the input, then check out the StrengthsQuest website or stop in Career Services to read about this strength and all the others!

Read Taylor’s other posts

About ellenhatfield

New professional in the field of Student Affairs in Higher Education. I am a Career Counselor at the University of MN Duluth.

2 thoughts on “Input: Who Wants to Know More?

  1. Thank you so much for sharing! I took the Strengths Finder 2.0 test today and Input was listed as my #1 strength, and I am so excited because I can finally put a name to this desire I have to explore and know everything. I am realizing that the things I felt guilty for or bad about in my past (not being able to choose a major, not being able to stick with anything because I’d be distracted by a new interest that came along), is really just my Input strength and I shouldn’t feel bad about it, I should try to hone this ability! This has opened my eyes so much more. Almost everything you listed above (not being able to choose a major, interests in many things, always wanting to collect information) are exactly the things that I have found to be true in my life! The only thing that didn’t apply to me was meeting new people, because I am extremely introverted and would rather sit back and watch people than walk up and meet them!

    • Lindsey, thanks so much for your comment! Strengths Finder (and StrengthsQuest) have the great ability to help us truly articulate what our strengths are, to others and ourselves. I too have input and LOVE collecting information and doing research on different topics. Glad that assessment was helpful for you and that you’ll now be even better at articulating your strengths. ~ Ellen, UMD Career Counselor

Leave a Reply

