Meet Ashlee

Name: Ashlee
Major and minor (if applicable) Double major in Theater (acting emphasis) and Journalism
Year in school: I recently graduated from UMD this past May, and am now working full-time in my first Big Girl Job after graduation! It’s scary, but also very exciting.
Length of time worked at UMD Career & Internship Services: I started working for Career & Internship Services as a Peer Educator when I was a freshman, and continued to work for them past graduation for the summer. I ended up working for Career & Internship Services for a whopping 5 years! Time flies when you love what you do.
Favorite place in Duluth: Whenever I can be on a beach, I’m there, which makes Park Point my #1 place. Not so much in the winter, but anywhere along the Lake Walk is a great place to visit. Don’t forget about Enger Tower. It offers great views of the city, especially now, with the leaves changing colors for fall.
Favorite book/movie/musical artist: I’m a huge bookworm, so I read a lot of everything. Anything written by Jodi Picoult is a masterpiece. Her book, My Sister’s Keeper, is a heart wrencher. My favorite movie of all-time is Star Wars (and yes, I do love all six of the films, although I do find the originals the best of the six.) Just like books, I tend to watch a lot of films. Action, adventure, and fantasy tend to be my favorite genres. However, Star Wars will always be my #1 pick. Don’t ask me to choose a favorite among the original three, though. I can’t do it. Favorite musical artist? Hands down, it’s Josh Groban.
Best career advice you’ve received: Create your own opportunities, and have fun with what you’re doing. The moment it stops being fun, you need to figure out why, and then make changes to make it fun for yourself again.
Piece of career advice you have for other students: Be open to offbeat opportunities. You never know who you might meet and what connections they may have to introduce you to down the road. Take the internship that isn’t directly related to what you’re doing. You never know what skills you’ll acquire. Keep up with your own independent projects. Employers are interested to know you have a life outside of your chosen career path, and these projects will serve as an escape for you, too.
Anything else you want to add: I’m no expert. I’ve been a part of the “real world” with my Big Girl Job for about 2 months now, and I’m figuring it out as I go, and I want to share my experiences with you! Everybody says it, and I’m going to repeat their cliche because it’s true: Don’t stress about the unknown. Put in your share of work, perfect that resume and cover letter, network, gain the experience of an internship or two, and apply, apply, apply! As if that isn’t enough, enjoy the process and where you are in your own personal journey. The pieces will fall into place when the time is right. Like I already said, I’m no expert, but I hope to help you along the way as you prepare to take the next big step in your journey and into your career!

Leave a Reply

