Futuristic: Soaring With Your Strengths

By: Abby [Futuristic, WOO, Communication, Responsibility, Relator]

StrengthsQuest is a career inventory that Career & Internship Services offers. You answer questions, and it gives you your top 5 Strengths. Out of the three inventories that we offer, and the numerous others that I have taken, StrengthsQuest is my all time favorite.

There are so many things that I could talk about revolving around the inventory in general, but today I am telling you about the strength/theme Futuristic. This blog, and all of its writers, will be covering all 34 of the Strengths over the next few months.

Futuristic, in my opinion, is my most “potent” strength. I was not surprised to see it as my first strength. StrengthsQuest offers this definition of Futuristic:

People who are especially talented in the Futuristic theme are inspired by the future and what could be. They inspire others with their visions of the future.

The book definition is true, but what Futuristic means to me is a bit different. I am a goal driven person. I am fascinated with what the future holds. It could be viewed as dreaming, but I see it as being driven.

This strength has helped me with much of my success. While I was in middle school, I was thinking about high school. While I was in high school, I was thinking about college. I attribute this forward-thinking to me being able to graduate in three years. I also attribute it to myself finding an internship while I was still a freshman. I have been able to achieve things faster and earlier than most of my peers because I am always thinking about the next step – getting an awesome job after graduation. I know that to get there, there are many things I need to do presently. Since I am thinking about all of the things that I must do, I start doing them. Before I know it, I am done.

This blessing can also be seen as a curse. My futuristic mind is always thinking about what is next. Once I reach that step, it is no longer the future, and off my mind roams again to the next step. It might be said that I am never satisfied with the present. I realized that was a personal tendency, then once I became self-aware, I started to adapt my mind to focus on both.

Self-awareness is a great thing. StrengthsQuest helps you achieve that. I am a huge supporter of it, and self-awareness in general. I am always trying to improve myself, and it all starts with being aware.

Read Abby’s other posts.

4 thoughts on “Futuristic: Soaring With Your Strengths

Leave a Reply

