Activator: Climbing the Ladder, One Idea at a Time

By: Megan [Input|Strategic|Futuristic|Individualization|Activator]

Finding your strengths is something that is essential to finding your career path. It’s one of the first things they ask in interviews and how you answer that question is probably one of the things that makes you stand out. Hemming and hawwing will only get you so far. Knowing your strengths, and more importantly, how you can use them, is how you get to where you want to be.

The StrengthsQuest assessment has by far been one of the most useful things I have done at college to find my path. All of my strengths work together in a way that is uniquely me, but the one that interests me the most is Activator. StrengthsQuest says “People who are especially talented in the Activator theme can make things happen by turning thoughts into action. They are often impatient.”

Now, this may sound a little less like a strength and a little more like something you want to control, but when I think about it, it makes sense. To me, it is not being impatient, but being willing to act. Once I have made a decision, I act on it. Waiting around debating something that isn’t going to change just gives me more time to doubt myself. I recently realized that I need to use my Activator theme a bit more when I started freaking out about a test that I had already taken.

How does this apply to work? Well, Activators are generally go-getters. They’re the people who go out and push the envelope. Often they make mistakes, and they may crash and burn, but in the end, they learn something, and then they apply it to their next endeavor.

The entirety of the Fashion industry comes to mind. Entrepreneurs. Even the guy in the cubicle next to you who keeps giving your boss proposals on how to improve the office (feng-shui, a monthly potluck, getting rid of the cubicles altogether) is showing off their Activation.

Being an Activator gives you the determination to just go with things. I’ll see an endeavor through just to see where it’s going. It’s why I’ve gotten this far. I’ve made more friends, gotten better grades, even found new hobbies. Just because I jumped on something before other people would have. And that’s really the best part of being an Activator.

Knowing your strengths is so important to finding your career path and figuring out who you are as a person. So be an Activator, and figure out your own strengths. And tell your friends. I’m sure you know a good place to do that.

Read Megan’s other posts.

Other StrengthsQuest posts

2 thoughts on “Activator: Climbing the Ladder, One Idea at a Time

Leave a Reply

