Achiever: Getting Things Done

By: Taylor [Achiever|Input|Intelligence|Learner|Strategy]

I have now taken this assessment twice and 4/5 of my top strengths have stayed the same. In each instance, my number one has been the ‘achiever’ strength. Here is how the StrengthsQuest assessment describes this strength:

Your Achiever theme helps explain your drive. Achiever describes a constant need for achievement. You feel as if every day starts at zero. By the end of the day you must achieve something tangible in order to feel good about yourself. And by “every day” you mean every single day — workdays, weekends, vacations. No matter how much you may feel you deserve a day of rest, if the day passes without some form of achievement, no matter how small, you will feel dissatisfied. You have an internal fire burning inside you. It pushes you to do more, to achieve more.

Achiever

For me, the achiever strength does indeed describe my work ethic. Each and every day I create a list of things to do, and often cannot rest until each task is accomplished. I also find the most enjoyment when I am busy and have a full schedule. This is evident by the fact that I have three part-time jobs, am involved in student government, and have a double major while graduating in less than four years. I don’t do it to get ahead of others or for resume builders. It’s because I am happiest when I’m accomplishing something.

Being an achiever does have its downfalls as well.  On the weekends I find that I make myself busy even when I don’t really have anything to do! I will clean my apartment or read ahead for my courses.  I have counteracted my strength by always making sure to schedule in ‘me’ time and also put silly things on my to-do list. Painting my nails and watching a movie can be added just so that I can still gain the satisfaction of checking it off the list. When you identify your strengths, you can truly use them to your advantage!

If you are an achiever, here are a few action items to follow from the Career Planning chapter in the StrengthsQuest book:

  • Take time to establish clear and relevant goals to guide your efforts.
  • Find roles that challenge you and reward your hard work.
  • Find a place where your productivity, stamina, intensity, and drive for completion will make you a valued team member.
  • Make a list of the steps to take in choosing a career. Having that list and being able to cross items off it as you follow through on each item will give you a sense of direction as well as a deep sense of accomplishment.

If you are interested in finding your top strengths, it only costs $15 to take the StrengthsQuest assessment in our office! You can come in to get the code and take it at your own convenience in the comfort of your own home!

Read other posts by Taylor

2 thoughts on “Achiever: Getting Things Done

Leave a Reply

