StrengthsQuest – Responsibility

By: Abby [Futuristic|Communication|WOO|Responsibility|Realtor]

It is time for our weekly StrengthsQuest theme!

This week, we’ll be talking about Responsibility, my fourth strength.

Responsibility is a word everyone is aware of, but in the world of StrengthsQuest, it has a slightly different interpretation.

StrengthsQuest defines Responsibility as:

People who are especially talented in the Responsibility theme take psychological ownership of what they say they will do. They are committed to stable values such as honesty and loyalty.

Responsibility

Responsibility is like a monkey on my back, but in the most positive light. If someone asks me to do something, I feel very obligated to follow through.  When I commit to completing a project, or volunteer to help a friend, or offer to run an event… I feel psychological ownership over it. I then will not let my work be poor because it has my name on it. It also works for the obligations I keep for myself. I feel a need to maintain my values.

Most people say they feel obligated to follow through, and need to keep their values in check, but for me, it is a deep, unfaltering purpose. It can’t be shook.

StrengthsQuest says, “[for a Responsible person,] excuses and rationalizations are totally unacceptable.” Which makes me laugh because every time I think of giving an excuse, I think about the poem that says, “excuses are the tools of the incompetent.” I believe in that quote and won’t let myself give them.

The negative part is that their conscience can create guilt out of minimal things and bring stress. Also, when people know that you’re dependable, they turn to you with many tasks. The Responsible person can get overwhelmed with duties quite quickly – they take on more than they should.

Here are tips from the book StrengthsQuest: Discover and Develop Your Strengths in Academics, Career, and Beyond, that can help use your Responsibility strength while thinking about careers and career planning.

  • Make an appointment with a career counselor to talk about how to begin the career planning process. The sense of psychological ownership this step creates will engage you in the process and energize you to follow through.
  • You often take initiative, and you always follow through, so you do not need a lot of supervision. Select work in which you can be given more and more responsibility as you progressively achieve.
  • Building trusting relationships with other is important to you, so choose environments in which you can surround yourself with dependable, trustworthy people. When selecting a team to join, be sure the other members are known for pulling their weight.
  • You will be most productive in environments where you can fully follow through on the commitments you make to others.

Responsibility has been a character value for years and years. I am proud of my responsibility, and feel responsible to keep it 😉

Read Abby’s other posts

Read other StrengthsQuest posts

Leave a Reply

