We Only Part to Meet Again

By: Cody

The quote by John Gay as my title for this blog says it all. It finally happened, I finally graduated. I was even one of the fortunate ones to do it in four years. You would think with all the homework, tests, presentations and group work that these past four years would have seemed like an eternity. However, it’s quite the opposite.

These past four years have flown by fast. I even catch myself talking to friends about something like it happened just last semester but it actually happened two years ago. It all feels like one big blur and don’t get me wrong, it was a lot of work, but it was the best time of my life. This is why saying goodbye to UMD and Duluth was a bittersweet goodbye. It was where I met many of my best friends and got to work at one of the coolest places ever, Career Services! It was hard to say goodbye to UMD and Duluth but I am excited for the next chapter of my life to see where it brings me. I’m just along for the ride now.

For my last post I thought about telling sentimental stories about college. But then I thought that would make me sound like an old man remembering his glory days and 22 is just too young to be old. So instead I am going to leave you all with tips/tidbits/facts/words of wisdom that I have learned throughout my time at UMD. Hopefully you find some of them useful.

Tips/Tidbits/Facts/Words of Wisdom (in no particular order)

  • Don’t take your liberal education credits too lightly; they help build your GPA more than you think.
  • Live in the dorms for at least one year; it’s an experience that everyone needs
  • Join an intramural sport; curling was always my favorite! Even if you don’t do well, you get to spend time with friends and meet new people.
  • No matter how hard you try to stop your habit of procrastination, it will never go away. There will always be those late nights finishing a project that’s due the next day, it is part of the college experience.
  • Join a student organization.
  • Get an internship; they help you in your job search once you graduate.
  • Go swimming in Lake Superior, it is right there, so why not?
  • Eat at Burrito Union, especially after 9pm they have 2 tacos and a beer for $5!
  • Complaining about homework doesn’t actually get your homework done.
  • “Don’t let you major decide your career” – a piece of advice given to me by the Vice President of Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
  • Graduating in four years can be done!
  • No matter what the school tells you; having a car your freshman year has its benefits.
  • Don’t make teachers mad; they hold the power.
  • Find something you love to do and find a career doing that. Doing something you love makes the job much more enjoyable.
  • Sometimes living with your best friend is not the best idea.
  • Don’t get discouraged when applying to jobs if you keep getting rejected. Keep a positive attitude, something will come along.
  • Finally, visit Career Services! They are a great resource and are there to help!

These are just a few of the hundreds of tips/tidbits/facts/words of wisdom that I learned throughout my time at UMD and in Duluth.

So there it is, my final post. I hope you all have enjoyed my posts and good luck to everyone in their current or future careers!

Goodbye UMD and Duluth, I will be back, and, I have to say it, Go Bulldogs!

Read Cody’s other posts

Leave a Reply

