Meet Brittany

By: Brittany

My name is Brittany and I am a senior at the University of Minnesota Duluth studying Theatre (with an emphasis in Acting) and Psychology. As an intern, this is my first, and unfortunately, only semester here with Career & Internship Services. Duluth is without a doubt a beautiful city but I have a few specific places in Duluth that I would spend all of my time if I could, the first one being Enger Tower, or anywhere that lets me overlook the city. Being able to look over the entire city is absolutely breathtaking and somewhat relaxing. Up there, nothing else matters. The second place being the Duluth Rose Garden, the atmosphere, the smell, and the view is just lovely; it’s very refreshing.

The question of “What’s your favorite book/movie/musical artist?” is always a difficult one for me because I love so many different kinds of things depending on what mood I’m in. I will say that Michael Buble and Rascal Flatts are two artists that are very close to my heart; you can never go wrong with listening to these two artists. As for books and movies, there are just too many good ones to choose from. I do quote Bridesmaids a lot (I’m a big fan of easily quotable movies) but I also greatly appreciate the wonderful, well thought out work of movies such as inception.

The best career advice that has been given to me, even though it may be a little harsh, is “It’s not what you know, it’s whom you know.” As hard as that may be to hear, it’s very true. Now, that’s not to say that you shouldn’t get an education but it just goes to show you that networking is so important and having acquaintances is only going to be beneficial to you. With that being said, a piece of career advice I would have is don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. It may be nerve racking to throw yourself in a new situation but getting your name out there and showing others how you work and what skills you have is going to be beneficial in so many aspects of your life.

One thought on “Meet Brittany

  1. Brittany – Hello and welcome to the office! Love your post! Especially the part about putting yourself out there!

    I’m going to an “update,” however, to your career advice quotation. I like to tell people that the saying, “It’s not what you know, but who you know” is half right! “Who you know” is very important … it is all about connections and networking when it comes to an effective job search. Equally important, however, *is* “what you know.” People generally don’t get hired simply because they “know” someone. Knowing people, having connections, gets your foot in the door – it helps secure the all important interview! It is then, during the interview, that the candidate needs to show she or he can do the job! It’s both, knowing you can do the job and knowing the right people! 🙂

Leave a Reply

