Healthy Habits for on the Job: Eating

By: Cameron

Welcome to “Part II” of Healthy Habits for on the Job! Last time I talked a bit about the importance of sleep to a healthy lifestyle. Today I would like to highlight eating as an important aspect to being a healthy employee. Below are a few tips and opinions I have developed regarding eating healthy.

Healthy habits eating

An individual’s diet is extremely important for their productivity. Even the simplest change in a diet can dramatically effect a person’s day. For example, I am a person who typically eats about five times a day. Like most college students, I needed to save money, so I made simple sandwiches. They were filling, inexpensive, and easy to make, but I found myself falling asleep in class a lot. I discovered that the mass amount of carbs, although a great source for long lasting energy, made me groggy. In order to fix this I introduced more fruits and vegetables into my diet. The most effective aspect of my diet was eating an apple. Taken with other food, eating an apple gave me energy for the entire day. Now, I find myself lasting the whole day without feeling sleepy at all. Below are some other dietary tips that I have found helpful:

  • Eat a variety. Having a little bit of every food group in each meal covers all your body’s needs. Too much of any food group without the others is a bad idea.
  • Eat small meals often. It may be annoying, but eating four or five small meals throughout the day is much better than eating two big meals.
  • Eat when you’re hungry. Some people believe starving themselves helps them lose weight. This is false. Starving yourself will actually slow down your metabolism and cause your body to store more fat in the long run.

But what do I know? I try to stay very health conscious, but I’m not a physical trainer or a doctor. If you want to find professional health advice you may need to sift through a lot of information out there and find what works for you. Everyone’s body is different so chances are there won’t be a single solution for everyone.

A program that I highly recommend checking out would be Weight Watchers. I have seen first hand amazing results from this program. Weight Watchers is a personalized point system that regulates what portions of each food group you need to consume based off of your body type.  Weight Watchers also takes your exercise into account. The program provides informational meetings lead by current members. It is a complex approach to a complex problem that is made easy through a supportive staff, online resources, and a simple iPhone app. For more information visit their website and decide if the program would be right for you.

Of Possible Interest:

Read Cameron’s other posts

Photo source

3 thoughts on “Healthy Habits for on the Job: Eating

Leave a Reply

