Mapping Your Network

By: Andrew

Typically, when I write these posts for our blog I feel like I have a firm understanding of what I am talking about. In saying that, this will be a learning process for you and me, but do not worry because I am a trained pre-professional, especially with LinkedIn. I discovered this tool on LinkedIn a month ago and realized it was not brand new, just not very visible or highly used at the time I found it. The tool I am referring to is LinkedIn’s In Maps. So, without any further waiting, let’s learn all about In Maps.

Screen shot 2014-03-28 at 9.14.36 PM

What I have found with In Maps is that it is giving the visual learner the perfect way to understand their network. As you can see, with my In Map the map is color-coded and branched out all over the place. The purpose of the color on the map is to show you that the connections in your network have commonalities. These commonalities can be many different things depending on what the most prominent or relevant items for you and them on LinkedIn are. For me, as you can see in the second image, they are labeled as what you see in the bottom right-hand corner of the image. Those labels were solely based off of what I felt my connection to them was at the time I labeled them. As you can see from my In Map, there is a mess of colors everywhere. So, here is how to clean that up.

Screen shot 2014-03-28 at 9.23.33 PM

If you are thinking that you have too “messy” of a network, there is a fairly easy and productive fix. The solution is to hone in on specific people that will help define your network to what you want it to be. For me, I do not mind having a lot of different labels. However if you want to only have a few labels you need to define what you want your future to look like. The In Map does a nice job of forcing you to figure out how you want to build your network and helping you understand where your network could use bolstering.

You may be saying to yourself, “this map thing looks absolutely pointless”, and do not worry, because I initially said that too! Need not worry; you did not just waste three minutes of your day, because the feature is quite helpful and easy to access. Just follow this link and you will have your Map in a few minutes. Now, I realize that I have basically left you with a bit of discovering to do, but that is the fun part. It is your network, your LinkedIn account, and your future to build and mold. Give this not so new feature a shot and let me know what you think of it in the comment section below.

Other posts about LinkedIn

Read Andrew’s other posts

Leave a Reply

