Your Summer of Transition

By: Hayley

So I hate to admit this but my years here at UMD are quickly coming to an end and once this school year is over the only thing standing between me a grad school will be summer! Three tiny months before I begin the daunting task of graduate school. So to put my mind at ease and to help me make the most of this summer I have done a little research and would like to share what I have found with you.

Grad School Summer

Some of the articles I read had some generic things that most people think of doing but others had some really interesting ideas that I hadn’t thought of. Here is a compiled list of some of the things I plan to do along with some other things as well.

  • Relax: This is probably obvious and I’m sure that, like me, you have been told many times how stressful grad school is and how busy you will be. So it makes sense that this tip popped up in most of these articles. However, I think, this is a little easier said than done for most people. I mean I am looking forward to grad school but I am also nervous about starting a new program, in a new school and a new city. I know myself well enough to know that I will be thinking about this all summer and it may prevent me from relaxing but I am going to do my best to make sure I push that to the back of my mind and really relax.
  • Get a Summer Job or Internship: This is something that I am really having a hard time with. In my experience, it is always hard to find someone who is willing to hire you just for the summer and once the summer begins I will be a college graduate, which eliminates half of the possibilities. I personally think that looking for an internship would be your best bet and will also give you some good experience for your resume; you may not have the time to take on an internship outside of your grad program after you begin.
  • Travel: Now, personally, I can’t afford to go much of anywhere but for those of you who can, I would take this time and do it. It also may give you some valuable experience before you begin school.
  • Spend Time With Friends and Family: As I mentioned earlier, most people say they don’t have much free time once they start school. Make the most of this time by spending it with your friends, who got you through your undergrad, or your family because once you start grad school it may seem like you have dropped off the face of the earth. Also warn them that might happen so they are not shocked when you stop returning their calls once your program starts.
  • Have Fun: This can be an number of things from reading to playing video games, watching TV or surfing the internet, or spending time outside. Do what you want to do while you can. Reading and watching TV are some of my favorite things to do and I haven’t really had a whole lot of time for them during school so I plan on doing a ton of it while I do have some time during the summer.

Hopefully some of these tips are helpful to you and there are a bunch I left out. Below are links to the articles I found helpful.

Read Hayley’s other posts

One thought on “Your Summer of Transition

Leave a Reply

