Goodbye (Only for Now)

By: Ashlee FB

Editor’s Note: Over the next few weeks we’ll be saying goodbye to several of our authors as they are graduating from UMD. Please feel free to wish them well on their future endeavors in the comments!

Well, here comes the sappy senior blog post. Wow, how fast these four years went. Reflecting on all of the memories made, it is impossible to recall everything I fell in love with at this beautiful campus. I am thankful every day for the memories, relationships, and experiences I have made during my time here at UMD.

I have a few words of advice for those of you who are fortunate enough to still call this city home:

  1. Take risks. This may seem obvious, but there are so many times I look back and wish I would have done something that was outside of my comfort zone. Whether it be studying abroad, joining a club that your friends don’t participate in, whatever, it is incredible the people you will meet and the experiences you will have when you take a chance.
  2. Get involved. Again, obvious, but SO important.
  3. Get outside! For those of us who are not from the North Shore, take advantage of the beauty that surrounds us every single day. I promise you it is something we all take for granted during our time here. There are so many opportunities to explore and get our daily dose of vitamin c, even during the winter!

I will miss this campus more than I can put in words. When people told me that college would be the best years of my life I listened, but I didn’t really listen. I didn’t realize that I would find some of the best friends I had never met yet. I didn’t know I would find a second home in the third floor of the library or a lecture hall. I definitely didn’t think about how much I would miss living in the dorms, but its here, and it came way too fast. So for those of you graduating, congratulations! This is a time of excitement and new beginnings. To those continuing your time at UMD, enjoy it while it lasts; it truly does go by so fast.

Read Ashlee’s other posts

Leave a Reply

