Deciding to Relocate for Work?

By: Michael

One of the hardest decisions I’ve had to make over the past couple of years was whether or not I would be willing to relocate or move to a different city for work. I have had my own experiences travelling, studied abroad, and interning in other cities, but I was never faced with the concept of considering a ‘permanent’ relocation. The idea was initially terrifying for me, mostly because I would be leaving all of my friends, family, and familiarities behind and trade it all for something new and unexpected. I have spent the past few weeks gathering advice and talking to friends and family about my decision to move and assembling some options for cities I’d like to move to as well as companies I’d like to work for. To help aide others in what to expect if they decide to relocate for work, I’m going to describe some of the stresses and obstacles I’m currently facing and will expect to face in the near future. Hopefully some of this insight will help prepare some of you for the future if you decide to go a similar route.

1. Resigning or rejecting offers or commitments in the town you are planning to leave.

This one should seem kind of obvious, but there are some certain aspects of this that were uncomfortable for me. I had never had to turn down a job offer up to this point; it was awkward and a little nerve-wracking for me to figure out how to properly turn down a job offer. I also will at one point have to quit my current job at a bank, where I have worked for the past 2 years. I also currently bank at a local bank and will need to switch either to a larger bank or to a branch located in the city I move to.

2. Applying for jobs located in the new city.

The next step I undertook was to apply for jobs. I have been submitting cover letters and resumes to a number of different accounting firms and businesses in a number of cities that I am interested in moving to. This has been a little more difficult than it seems, especially when applying to larger metropolitan areas such as Chicago, where I am unfamiliar with the area and suburbs. It is hard to know if some of the locations you are applying for are a good fit for you without doing your research, which brings me to my next point.

3. Research the Location Before Committing to Move There.

I’ve been spending an extensive amount of time looking at different cities here in Minnesota as well as Iowa and Illinois. Initially I looked for cities with a significant amount of accounting positions available, compared cost of living estimates, population sizes, and crime rates (especially when looking at specific neighborhoods or suburbs).

These are a few of the steps I have taken thus far. I am still waiting to begin interviewing with some of the companies that I have applied for. Once I know more about which city I am moving to, I will likely provide more insight into the ‘transitioning’ face, rather than the planning phase of relocation. In the meantime, if any of you are considering moving for work, I hope this advice helps you as much as it has helped me this semester. There really is a lot that goes in to it and right now the best thing is to take it one step at a time.

Read Michael’s other posts

Leave a Reply

