The Last Semester: Light at the End of the Tunnel?

By: Glen

My previous blog post was a reflection on some of the stressors that face me as I prepare to exit school, and having nothing solid scheduled for the next year for the first time in my life. It’s a very interesting time in life, as the world is your oyster. The flip side of that is… Well… The WORLD is your oyster. How does one deal with that?

One Brick at a Time

I am not certain why, but for some reason, this song (linked above) was something I listened to repeatedly when I was a child. Although it’s from some musical, (that I never even knew of until I looked it up just now) I had it on some sort of developmental-child-music-cassette-tape-thing. Sadly, I did not realize the important message in the song until my last year of the undergraduate college experience (meaning, I learned this, like, three months ago).

Compartmentalizing tasks. Simple as that. Seriously, every major project that is worked on needs to be taken one step at a time. Or, “One brick at a time, one brick at a time! One single solitary brick!” This lesson goes for life as well! Instead of dealing with the pile of stressors in front of you (which I sometimes affectionately refer to as a pile of dung) being able to shovel things one task at a time is very useful. I was stressing about trying to find a place to live. How did I deal with that? I found people to live with, a place to live in, and signed a lease. It’s done, and now I can move on.

If you haven’t figured out what the takeaway is yet, here you go: Take things one step at a time. It’s how I’ve managed to survive thus far, and it is how I will manage to get everything I need to get done before graduation. That includes getting a job!

Read Glen’s other posts

One thought on “The Last Semester: Light at the End of the Tunnel?

Leave a Reply

