Whitney’s Farewell Advice

By: Whitney

Hello everyone! This is my final blog post for this amazing office! Unlike many others who are writing farewell posts, I am not quite to graduation yet. I still have one more eventful year of student teaching in front of me, and I am sure that 1st grade will keep me busy! Duluth has treated me well over the past four years and while I am very excited to continue my journey in other places, I am also a little sad. I am especially sad when I begin to think of leaving my family here at Career & Internship Services.

I came to this office as a nervous freshman interviewing for a job that I never thought I would get, and I am leaving a confident, well-rounded individual. Without this office, I am not totally positive I would have made it through college. I felt really lost when I went to change my major and was on the verge of giving up. Although I still don’t know that I have my future path totally together, I know that it’s going to be okay and that things will turn out just fine. Thanks to the support I found in this office, I got into a study strategies class that I eventually became a teaching assistant for, switched my major, discovered my strengths, and explored new career opportunities.

As far as advice goes, there is so much advice I want to give but so much you need to just experience on your own. Here are a few tips that have helped me get through.

Find a support system. College is hard. There are going to be times where you want to throw in the towel and you wonder if all of this is ever going to be worth it. Finding a support system whether it is a solid group of friends, a significant other, family, or co-workers can make the ride a lot easier, not to mention way more enjoyable! Having someone to share the hard times with makes the workload bearable, but having someone to share the happy times with makes even small accomplishments feel like you can do anything!

Take time for yourself. I know it can be hard to find time for yourself when you have classes, papers, exams, and work, but finding that time is essential. The money will work itself out and somehow everything eventually gets done (even if you aren’t really sure how). Taking time for yourself can help you feel rejuvenated, more productive, and happier. When you are happy you will produce better work. I do not regret not getting a better grade in chemistry or not doing as well on a paper as planned, but I do regret not taking more time to have fun and taking time for myself.

My final piece of advice is start building your resume as soon as possible. It is NEVER too early! Having experience in the end is what will help you get noticed by employers. Even simply joining a club in your field and being involved in that club can help connect you with people in the field and gain experience. Even if you don’t get experience in your field, having experiences that build on transferrable skills can be huge when it comes to finding a job.

As I end this post I can only think to share this quote from Mandy Hale: “You don’t always need a plan. Sometimes you just need to breathe, trust, let go and see what happens.”

Good luck in all of your future endeavors and farewell!

Read Whitney’s other posts

Leave a Reply

