What I Have Learned as a Peer Educator This Year

By: Logan

Over this past year I have learned a lot from my job working as a Peer Educator in Career and Internship Services. The amount of new information I have learned is immense and covers more than just resumes. I have learned so much about cover letters, job interviews, and career topics in general.  Even after I completed my first semester of training, I continued to learn new things and develop my career skills. This job has taught me more than I ever expected and I am very thankful that I got the opportunity to have this experience.

When I first started working as a Peer Educator I knew little to nothing about career skills, resumes, cover letters, and things of that nature. When I first began my training it was all a big shock to me. I had no idea that resumes had such specific rules. I struggled with the rules such as: You must bold this, but you can’t bold that, etc. But I tried very hard to learn all of the rules that must be applied to resumes. After a while I began to get the hang of it. More and more I would improve and I would successfully correct a resume. The more I did it, the better I became at it. I was very happy with my progress, but I had not had the chance to try it with a real student.

Learned as Peer

Eventually the time came. I was equipped with all of the tools and information that I needed to correct a student’s resume for them. I was very nervous for my first interaction. Once I became more comfortable with the position, I developed a sort of script that I would follow when I would help students. But when I tried my first time I did not have a predetermined script, and the interaction with the student was not as smooth as it was with the more experienced Peer Educators. Overall, I was satisfied with my first resume review because when I was done the student told me that I was very helpful and that they appreciated the help. That was when I realized how rewarding the job actually is. It is an amazing feeling to have another college student (sometimes much older than you) thank you and tell you how helpful you were. I have even had students that I had helped in the past come back to the office and tell me about a job or internship that they acquired because of the resume and cover letter help. For me, that is the most rewarding part of the job.

As time went on I found myself getting more and more comfortable interacting with students. I began to get to know the student and ask them questions about themselves so I can find out more about who they are, and then I can use that information to make their resume as good as it can be. I learned tips of how to deal with difficult customers (and yes, there are difficult customers in this line of work!) and I feel like those tips can help me in other areas of life as well. To this day I continue to develop my career skills by reading new blogs on career advice, and by listening and talking to our amazing career counselors we have in our office. All of our counselors are highly trained and have always given me great advice. If you are unsure of what you would like to do, I recommend setting up an appointment with one of the counselors. They have helped countless students with all of their career questions and concerns.

Overall I have learned a lot from my job as a peer educator. I have learned many important career skills and customer service skills I will carry with me throughout my professional career. I recommend everyone to go to Career and Internship Services and take advantage of the great services that are offered there. Get your resume reviewed, set up your LinkedIn account, have a meeting with a career counselor, all of these things will be very helpful to you in the future.

Looking forward to working in the office next year. Hope you all have a great summer!

Read Logan’s other posts

Photo source: Unsplash/Jeff Sheldon

Leave a Reply

