Cameron’s Final Thoughts

By: Cameron

The day has finally come to graduate. At times I’ve dreamt of this moment and at other times I’ve dreaded it. On one hand I made it to the finish line and I’m ready to begin my life as an adult. On the other hand college is over and there will never be another experience quite like it. Today I want to talk about a few things I learned over the years at college.

Talk to your advisor regularly

My second semester in college I tried to make my own schedule and I failed miserably. Long story short, I ended up getting a C in a five-credit class that I didn’t even need to take. After that I was in my advisor’s office multiple times every semester. Not only were we able to find a schedule that worked for me, I was also able to make up for lost time and graduate in four years. It definitely helped that my advisor was awesome, which I know isn’t the case for everyone. I had to switch once myself, so don’t be afraid to switch your advisor as well.

Cameron's Final Advice

Keep your textbooks

When you have piles of student loans and money is tight it is tempting to make a few easy bucks by selling your textbooks, but I’m here to tell you it might be worth keeping them. You’ve invested a lot of money into these books, so selling them back to the school for a tenth of what you bought them seems crazy. Sometimes you can get a decent deal selling them online, but what if you need the textbooks again someday? Granted there are plenty of resources on the internet, but you’ll never know another book as well as you know your undergraduate textbooks.

Get involved

My biggest regret is not getting involved in more extracurricular activities. Getting involved with clubs, especially clubs related to your chosen career path, will help you make connections, build practical skills, and impress employers. Working on a team and communicating with people are two of the most important skills a person can have in the work force. Some people don’t get involved because they think they don’t have enough time and they’re worried that their grades with drop. This is definitely a reasonable concern, but if you ask any employer many of them will say that they put a lot more value on practical and communication skills than grades.

Take risks

When you are presented with an opportunity that seems unusual or out of your comfort zone, seize it. Some of my best experiences have happened because I was willing to take a risk every now and then. It should go without saying that you should never do something that may put your life at risk, but don’t be afraid to try out a new sport, or study abroad, or even just talk to a classmate who you haven’t met yet. You never know what might happen.

Make connections

My final piece of advice is to meet people! College is tough, but you don’t need to do it alone. Whether you are working on homework together or just letting off some steam it is important to have a solid network of friends. Not to mention that the connections you make in college may be your co-workers down the road or life long friends.

So in summation, enjoy your time in college while it lasts. Personally I don’t believe that college will be the best time of you’re life, but there is no denying that college is an incredible experience. If you want to live without regrets then make sure to stop and smell the roses once and awhile. For those still in school, good luck and have fun! For those currently graduating, congratulations and good luck in your future endeavors!

Read Cameron’s other posts

Photo: Unsplash/Joshua Sortino

Leave a Reply

