Positivity & Harmony: A Deadly Combination

By: Logan

In the Career and Internship Services office, we focus a lot on our strengths. This year I have looked into these strengths more than I have ever before. I think by looking at your own strengths it can not only help you by helping yourself see these strengths and apply them, but it can also help you by identifying your weaknesses. I also have found it helpful to look at the effects of two different strengths on every day situations. All of this information can be helpful in your knowledge of personal development.

Sometimes having certain strengths can make a situation more difficult. In my own experience I have had discrepancies because of where my strengths lie. Two of my highest strengths are harmony and positivity, and I am not complaining about this, but sometimes they can be troublesome. Since positivity is one of my top strengths, I strive for a positive environment. Being in a negative workplace or environment would be physically and emotionally draining for me. This is why I enjoy working here at Career & Internship Services and my job at a Golf Course, because they are overall positive work environments. For a brief period I was considering going into alcohol and drug counseling, because I find the subject of chemical dependency to be very fascinating. But with my knowledge of strengths I knew going into a job where the subject matter is mostly negative would probably not be ideal for me.

As I said earlier, harmony is also one of my top strengths. Now there is nothing wrong with harmony, but sometimes it can get in the way of things. Since I score high in harmony I prefer an environment where people get along and work together well. In the past I have worked in jobs where employees would bicker or talk behind each others backs, and I did not enjoy those situations. I am the type of person who tries to be nice to everyone, so when I was brought into these fights between coworkers I felt very uncomfortable and it made my experience there much more stressful. But having harmony can also be tough in other situations, such as confrontation. Since I like for everyone to be on good terms, I find it hard to confront people about big issues. I am not saying I completely abstain from confronting anyone, I just find it uncomfortable and try to avoid it if possible. This is why I would prefer to work in a workplace where there is positivity and harmony.

I think it is essential to know your owns strengths and weaknesses to see what kind of work environment you would prefer to work in. After I assessed my strengths I could see I would prefer to work in an environment that is positive and harmonious. If I had not looked into these strengths I may have made the mistake of going into a less positive job. Yes, the combination of positivity and harmony can be deadly, but it also allows me to create a positive and healthy environment for the other people I work with.

Of Possible Interest: 

Read Logan’s other posts

Leave a Reply

