Checklist for Relocating

By: Ellen (Career Counselor, Guest Blogger)

In December, I was talking with a student (now UMD graduate) about their impending relocation to the southern part of the U.S. for their job. They were looking for tips on how to make the transition happen smoothly. I thought it would be helpful to share these tips with all of you. Most of these tips I have learned first hand because I’ve relocated twice (once for grad school and again for my current job).

Checklist for relocating

Find somewhere to live. Your new company may have information on where to start looking for housing in your new city. Your new city’s Chamber of Commerce website will probably also have relocation information.

Save up your money. Relocating is expensive, so take the time to save up some money before your move.

Find Healthcare. Where is the nearest hospital or clinic in town? I’m a child of a mother who works in healthcare…so it’s always on my radar.

Grocery Store. You need to eat. When I moved to Duluth, I found a grocery store a few blocks away from where I live. As time has moved on, I’ve explored more grocery stores and found my favorite ones.

Update your driver’s license. This could be as simple as an address change. I learned in my last move I had to take my written driver’s exam again because I was filing for a license in a new state. New plates for your vehicle if you’re moving to a new state. You usually have to do this relatively soon after permanently relocating. In Minnesota, you have 60 days.

Find your public transit. Figure out if this is an option for you to get around your new city.

Change your address in all the places. Start with the US Postal Service so all your mail will be rerouted until you get all the updates in place.

Figure out what you use and do on a regular basis and find the equivalent in your new city. This could include: coffee shop, farmer’s market, library, place of worship, gym, bank, parks, trails, and more.

Meet people. This could happen through your work, and/or you may have to step out on your own to meet people. MeetUp is a site that helps you connect with all different kinds of groups in your area. You could also look for things like cooking classes at a local kitchen store (or something similar in your areas of interest).

Explore your neighborhood and new city. Your new city should have a Visitor’s Bureau to help you get started. Sometimes, just walking around can help you learn your new city. You can also ask your new co-workers for recommendations of things to see, do, eat, etc.

Ultimately, relocating is both overwhelming and an exciting adventure. I hope these tips help to make the transition smoother.

Of Possible Interest:

Photo source: Unsplash|Hide Obara

Leave a Reply

