Role With It

By: Cassie

Whether we like it or not, almost all of us will have to work for the rest of our lives. You may be dreading this or you may be excited to see what your future has in store, but it’s all about your point of view. If you go into a job and are willing to better yourself, you are going to have a lot better time than if you go into your job every day dreading it. Whether you are in an entry-level position or you are just starting your adult job, one of the best things you can do to enjoy your workplace is to GET INVOLVED.

Now you’re probably thinking that I’m crazy. Why would you want to take on more responsibility? Well, I’m here to tell you that at work, you get out what you put in. By this I mean the more you get involved, the more results and rewards you get out of it. I mean, who doesn’t like getting told that they’re doing a good job, right?!

It’s pretty easy to take on new roles at your workplace. You can find out what else is going on in your office besides what you’re currently doing. Some examples of this would be getting involved in the social media, taking on leadership roles, adopting projects, and maybe even taking an extra position to get some extra hours. A lot of these things don’t require a lot of extra work and the added bonus is that by taking on additional roles you also are building onto your resume. By being multifaceted in your workplace you learn a lot about your place of work and you have a better sense of belonging.

If you still are skeptical about what I’m telling you, I will tell you my own personal story. I started out as an alumni caller at C&IS in February 2015. I then went on to pursue a front desk position in September 2015. I currently still hold both of these positions. I like to table for events to promote the many benefits our office offers and I also write for this blog. These have all been huge learning opportunities for me and there have been so many benefits! Some of the benefits I have experienced are getting closer to my coworkers, learning more about the office, and being able to be creative and come up with new ideas. Yes, it is a lot of work, but now I am really starting to get so much more out of coming to work. I am actually having fun!

So now that you know all the benefits of taking on additional roles, I want to tell you ways you can find out about these extra jobs. Ask your boss about what they need help with around the office, I’m sure they will be thrilled to take something off of their plate. Look into the social media and see if there is anything you can do to promote or enhance it. Look around your place of work to see if there are any new or creative ideas that you have that may help out the work place. The list is endless and these are just a few examples!

So get out there and start to help your work place and yourself!

Of Possible Interest: 

Read Cassie’s other posts

Leave a Reply

