How StrengthsQuest Taught Me Who I Am (Again)

By: Cassie

In the Career and Internship Services office we offer different assessments. They are personal inventories that allow you to ask questions about yourself and find out who you really are. We have the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, the Strong Interest Inventory, and StrengthsQuest. I have taken all of these and they have really taught me a lot about myself. I took them all my freshman year when I first started working in the office. The results of these assessments have become a part of me and they are how I describe myself and what I put on my resume. Recently for my Principles of Marketing class, my professor told us that we were going to take the StrengthsQuest to be able to better work with our group members for our semester project. I, of course, tried to get out of paying the $15 fee by saying that I work at Career and Internship Services and I had already taken it. However, much to my chagrin, he said I would have to take it anyways.

I got the assessment and I plugged the code into my computer. I was in my own space and was thinking “ugh, I already know all about myself what do I have to do this again?” I put in all the required information and started answering the questions. The assessment gives you two spectrums and you are supposed to pick if you lean more towards one option or the other. I started clicking through, having a hard time picking whether I was more one way or the other on a lot of questions. Was I more caring or analytical? Do I like group projects or do I like to work independently? Even though I knew what to expect, I still struggled my way through the process and about thirty minutes from my start time, I was finally finished. My results popped up on the screen and they were positivity, focus, developer, strategic, and achiever. I was shocked, I didn’t think I was some of these things at all. I decided to go back to look at the results of my first StrengthsQuest and to my surprise, they were almost all different. My first results were communication, strategic, individualization, woo, and activator. I almost felt cheated. I felt like I had to have answered the questions wrong and that I should get a redo.

hp-growth-quote

I came into Career and Internship Services after I took my assessment and I mentioned that I retook the StrengthsQuest and that all my results were different. The counselors explained to me that even though my top 5 weren’t the same, they were probably still in my top 10 out of 34. They also went on to explain that these new strengths show how I have grown as a student and as a person over the last two years. I started out with strengths that identified me as a people pleaser who wanted to win everyone over and made quick decisions. Now I am a positive worker who likes to analyze situations before making a decision by coming up with plans to get things done by focusing on my goals. It wasn’t bad that I changed, it just showed that I am a normal college student who is growing into the person I really want to be.

If you’ve already taken the StrengthsQuest, I really encourage you to take it again. Especially if you took it in a prerequisite freshman or sophomore level class. If you are a junior or senior who is preparing to go into the “real” world, this is something that can be of huge value to you. Yes, it is $15, but I think it’s worth it to cut out the two trips to the food court to find out about who you really are and how you have grown. If you haven’t taken the StrengthsQuest, then I would absolutely tell you that it is a valuable experience and I would HIGHLY recommend taking it. If you have any questions come down to Career and Internship Services and we would be happy to help you!

Of Possible Interest: 

Read Cassie’s other posts

Photo Source: Unsplash | Kari Shea

Leave a Reply

