#BulldogOnTheJob: Karissa

Editor’s Note: We’re trying something new this year. We are interviewing various UMD Alumni about how their experiences at UMD have impacted their professional lives. They will also be giving their advice for being successful out there in the real world.

Name: Karissa Hendricks
Major: Human Resource Management
Minor: Communication
Grad Date: December 2013

Organization, title, and a brief synopsis of what you do.
I work for maurices as the HR Coordinator on the Human Resource Business Partner team. In this role, I am responsible for local networking and outreach which includes attending career fairs, coordinating job shadows and group visits, and conducting informational interviews. I am responsible for the start to finish recruiting for temps, interns, and entry-level positions, as well as the onboarding of new hires. I am also responsible for various compliance related tasks such as unemployment. My favorite part of my job is that I am always presented with new things to do and projects to work on – there is something new every day!

Karissa BOTJ

Karissa recruiting for maurices at the Spring Head of the Lakes Job & Internship Fair.

What were the jobs, opportunities, and/or classes you had that led to your current role?
I originally went to UMD for Marketing, but after taking my HR Principles class I realized that HR was more in line with my interests. A later internship in HR solidified my decision to change majors. I grew up in the Twin Ports area and always wanted to work for maurices. About a month before graduation, I attended the UMD Alumni Networking Night determined to talk with a representative from maurices. Our discussion went well, and a few weeks after the event the Recruiter called me and told me about a temporary opportunity available at maurices in the Human Resources Department. I jumped at the opportunity and began working at maurices two weeks before I finished classes. Since accepting that temporary position, my job is no longer temporary and has continued to evolve.

What do you know now that you wish you’d known prior to entering your role/field?
Something I wish I would have known, and taken advantage of, is being more involved while at school. There are so many opportunities available and clubs to join. I joined the Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM) my junior year and had so many great opportunities to learn from professionals in Duluth, I just wish I would have done it sooner!

Karissa BOTJ Quote

What career advice do you have for students wishing to enter your field?
My advice would be to just put yourself out there. I know that it sounds cliché, but the best things really do happen when you step outside of your comfort zone. I would also add to say “yes” to every opportunity you are given – even if it is not exactly what you want to do. This will help you figure out what you like and don’t like. Plus, it will demonstrate your willingness to work hard, which will not go unnoticed!

Take advantage of the amazing resources that are available to you, especially at Career & Internship Services, which offers resume and cover letter review, interview prep, and more! These resources are free and will help you be prepared and confident when applying for jobs. The sooner you start this, the better. Also, be sure to attend career fairs and networking events and be prepared and confident when approaching employers. Even if you are not looking for a position immediately, forming relationships with employers will be to your benefit when you begin your job search.

Anything else you want to add about your time at UMD, or since, that greatly impacted where you are now?
I loved going to UMD and attending LSBE. It is a great school in a great community. I knew that I wanted to stay in Duluth and feel so lucky that I was able to do that. I think that going to school at UMD helped make that happen as I was able to form connections in the community. Through working in HR at maurices I have had several opportunities to return to campus for presentations and career fairs and I am always SO impressed by the caliber of students I talk with at UMD.

Interested in maurices? Check out their Careers page

Leave a Reply

