The Internal Battle of Internships

By: Cassie

The huge thing right now is internships. Everyone is trying to get one to get experience in their field and to be able to have access to a company. Many people (including myself) have to have an internship in order to graduate. This added pressure of NEEDING to get one, on top of the pressure of seeing your friends and classmates try and get them, can be very daunting. Well, I am here to tell you today that these feelings are TOTALLY REASONABLE and you’re not the only one feeling this way.

You may be thinking that you are the only one struggling to get an internship and it seems like everyone around you is snapping up positions. Well trust me, you aren’t the only one. I have applied for around 10 internships for this summer. That’s right, 10. I have put so much time, effort, and hope into applying for them and it felt like I was going nowhere. This really bothered me for the last month. I have plenty of work experience, I am involved in clubs, and I like to think that I can write a cover letter. It was a super discouraging experience. I really didn’t know what I was doing wrong and I really didn’t know what to do. But I talked to my mom, and my friends, and the people at Career & Internship Services and I finally turned the situation into a positive one.

I decided that it’s okay that I haven’t gotten an internship for the summer. It is SO competitive to get an internship and now is not the time for me. I have still been reaching out to companies, but I have been doing so in applying for actual jobs that can still help me in my major. If I get rejected from these jobs, I have been putting aside the contact so I can contact them closer to my graduation. I will be able to find something for the summer whether it be a part-time job, a full-time job, or even just volunteering, I know I will be able to find something that will get me involved in my career path. I also know that getting involved, even if it wasn’t the way I originally wanted to, will open so many doors for me to get an internship for next year. So, my final thoughts are that, yes, getting an internship is tough, but you just have to look at the positives and persevere. Get help if you need it and remember you are awesome and can do this!!!!

Of Possible Interest: 

Read Cassie’s other posts

Leave a Reply

